Supreme Court

The Constitution gives members a means to resolve disagreements and differences, which cannot be otherwise settled, by providing for a body comprised of three judges and two auxiliary judges chosen from among the Knights and Dames of Justice or  of Grace, who serve three-year terms, called The Supreme Court [C IX].

The Constitution places four main areas under the competency of the Supreme Court:

  1. The observance of the prescriptions of the Constitution, laws, and ordinances of the Order.
  2. The judgment of any differences between dignitaries of the Order, with the exception of Bailiffs who may form their own Court.
  3. Legal matters and matters of honour submitted to its judgment by the Sovereign Council.
  4. Appeals originating from decisions reached by the Courts of the Grand Priories or Priories.

The present Supreme Court:

–   Chevalier   Andrew Bray Wilson GCSL [Grand Priory of Southern Australia] – Judge
–  Chevalier   Krister Thelin GCSL  [Priory of St. Eskil – Sweden]  – Judge
–  Chevalier   Judson Scott GCSL [Priory of The Pacific ] – Judge
–  Chevalier   William Van Ness CJSJ [Americas Priory] – Auxiliary Judge
–  Chevalier   Richard Muscat  KGSJ [Russian Grand Priory of Malta] – Auxiliary Judge